The UK government has abandoned the ERASMUS program from 1 Jan 2021 onwards as part of Brexit.
Erasmus is a European Union program that enables students to study abroad for a limited amount of time. The Erasmus+ scheme is funded by the European Commission as part of the Lifelong Learning programme. It aims to promote student mobility in higher education.

General Information about the Erasmus+ exchange between the University of Jena and the University of St Andrews

  • Selection and admission
    1. All students must have completed at least one year of full-time study at the Home Institution prior to commencement of the Student Exchange.
    2. Student Candidates must meet all normal entry criteria as applied to non-graduating students at the Host Instiution, including any language requirements.
    3. Students will be admitted as full-time, non-graduating Exchange Students at the Host Institution.
    4. The Home Institution will advise Exchange Students pre-departure on the academic and cultural differences at the Host Institution and the host community.
  • Tuition fees and other costs
    1. Accepted Exchange Students are exempt from tuition fees at the Host Institution and will continue to pay their normal tuition fees to the Home Institution.
    2. All living costs (including travel and accommodation) are the responsibility of the participating students.
  • Immigration
    The Host Institution will provide students with the relevant documentation to assist in obtaining a student visa. However, the final responsibility for obtaining necessary documents rests with the student.
    Information can be found on the following webpages:

  • Accommodation
    Accommodation is not guaranteed, but the Host institution will make every reasonable effort to assist inbound students, according to the requirements of the Erasmus Charter for Higher education.
    Where University accommodation is available, exchange students must complete the relevant accommodation application by the Host Institution’s stipulated deadline.
    Information can be found on the following webpages:


Outgoing students from St Andrews to  Jena

The Friedrich Schiller University (FSU) in Jena, founded in 1558, has around 21,000 students enrolled in over ten different faculties. Students make up one quarter of the inhabitants of Jena. Approximately 340 professors and 6,400 members of staff work at the University and University Hospital. The university’s teaching staff included Schiller, Fichte, Hegel. The Physics department at FSU Jena has a long tradition in Astrophysics and Optics. Triggered by the development of the optical industry in Jena by Carl Zeiss, Ernst Abbe and Otto Schott in the 19th century, the research focus of the university has adapted accordingly. The town is famous for optical manufacturing (Zeiss), hosts a renowned planetarium, and has links to the nearby Tautenburg Observatory, with the largest telescope in Germany. Tautenburg also hosts one of the LOFAR radio antennas. Associated with the University is the University Observatory Grossschwabhausen which is used for teaching. Today, FSU Jena has one of the strongest reputations in these fields not only in Germany, but in Europe. Ernst Abbe himself was an astronomer and the director of the University Observatory. Today, research focuses on star and planet formation, neutron stars, and stellar debris disks, along with applied astro-photonics for instrument development in astronomy.

  • Recommended language skills

Language of instruction: German and English. Recommended level of language: B1, better B2.

  • Course of Study

Overview of what is taught each summer and winter term: courses
Lectures held in Sommer-Semester 2017.

More information about the FSU and the city of Jena can be found on the Study Abroad webpage and general information for Outbound Students on the Study Abroad webpage of the University of St Andrews, where you can also find details on How to apply.


City centre of Jena.
University Observatory in Jena.










Incoming students from Jena to  St Andrews

Study Abroad at St Andrews — Inbound Students

Practical Information:
+ semester dates
+ recommended language skills
+ fees, expenses and insurance
+ accommodation

— Link to University of St Andrews Module Catalogue — Astronomy Modules



University of St Andrews
School of Physics and Astronomy
Astronomy Group

North Haugh
St Andrews
KY16 9SS
Scotland, UK

How to get here?
Town map
Google map